Välkommen till Sverige! - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Sharon Eichler - WaarBenJij.nu Välkommen till Sverige! - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Sharon Eichler - WaarBenJij.nu

Välkommen till Sverige!

Door: Sharon Eichler

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sharon

01 Februari 2016 | Zweden, Jönköping

And there I go again. Destination: Jönköping,Sweden.

Two weeks ago I stepped on a plane flying towards a new adventure. A cold and snowy country all the way in the north, known for its beautiful forests, delicious fika and of course IKEA.

I moved into my dorm on Sunday, after spending a few lovely days with my family, who live only 30 minutes from Jönköping. I live in a big house, only a 20-minute walk from the city centre and I share the kitchen with the 20 people who live there. I have my own room with a breathtaking view on lake "Vättern" (see photo). I am so grateful for the house I live in, sharing it with several nationalities: Spanish, dutch, french, Australian, polish, Canadian, indian and Chinese. Very multicultural.

Week 1 started off with a meeting with the teachers and a bustour through Jönköping and surroundings. I got to know many new students from all over the world. Most of the time I speak English, but I also speak Dutch and German with a few people. We had a lot of activities throughout the week to get know each other and the city. On a Thursday we had a meeting about the Swedish culture called "living like a Swede". It was interesting to hear about the Swedish people and the country. Of course I will discover by myself how the Swedish culture differs from my own culture. I want to meet them, get to know them and learn from them. The introduction week was very well organised and I had a lot of fun together with all the other students.

In week 2 the classes finally started. This is the main reason why I decided to study here in Sweden, because the courses sound very interesting. I want to learn the Swedish language, to be able to communicate with the Swedish people in their language. The second course I will attend is "Intercultural and international communication". I am fascinated by all the different cultures and how they work together. I can see this first hand in my own house. There are so many different cultures living with each other and it is still possible to keep it organised and friendly :). In the second part of the semester I will study "Sustainability in a Multicultural World" and "Social Relationships, Conflict Management and Leadership". In the future I am hoping to work as an English teacher at an international school teaching children from different cultural backgrounds. I believe that these courses will be a good basis for my working-field.

Besides attending these courses, living at an international house, going to the gym and having fika (Swedish coffee and cake), I want to be part of a church. Before I came to Sweden I checked the internet to see if there are churches in Jönköping. And there are a lot, however I found a church called Connect Church ( www.connectchurch.se ) and I really liked it, looking at their website. This weekend I got the chance to meet someone from the church and she invited me for a Swedish fika and on Sunday I came with her to the church. It was so good and I felt really welcome. The people were kind and open. The sermon was in Swedish, but Lovisa was so kind to translate for me. I know for sure that I will visit this church regularly. It felt like family.

It has only been two weeks, since I arrived in my dorm on Kortbovägen 33, but it feels like I have been here longer. I got to meet so many people and I got to do a lot of fun things already. According to the "five stages" of Peterson's culture-shock model I am still in the first stage called "The Honeymoon stage". This means that the differences are intriguing and I feel excited and curious about the Swedish culture. I like the Swedish people, they are kind and open. The food is great and the weather is cold but beautiful. I am sure I made the right decision to study here. This going to be a great adventure.

Lastly an inspiring quote, which describes my situation right now. And I hope this will inspire you too, to travel and discover new places :)

"One’s destination is never a place, but rather a new way of looking at things." | Henry Miller

  • 01 Februari 2016 - 19:53

    Hanneke:

    Thanks, Sharon! So proud of you!
    Love you, mom

  • 01 Februari 2016 - 21:29

    Elise:

    Love it! So proud of you for doing this and I can't wait to visit you soon!

  • 08 Februari 2016 - 11:09

    Simone Groeneveld:

    Dear Sharon,

    How awfully cold! Lovely photo of the whether forecast. And of course of the stunningly beautiful lake view. You are sharing your kitchen with twenty people, that is quite a lot! However, you see the bright side of this arrangement (meeting many different nationalities), which indeed will be very interesting, especially taking the goals of this minor into account.

    So you'll get in touch with many different cultures, but will also be in touch with Swedes via the Connect Church (a lovely name for a church) - a very good initiative to look for and visit the church.

    Good reference to Pederson and a lovely and fitting quote to summarize it all.

    Good luck in all your classes!

    Kind regards,
    Simone

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sharon

My name is Sharon and I am 21 years old. Right now I am studying to become an English teacher. My dream is to teach at an international school someday.

Actief sinds 03 April 2012
Verslag gelezen: 373
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8085

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Januari 2016 - 11 Juni 2016

Exchange semester in Sweden

01 September 2012 - 03 Maart 2013

Sharon op DTS

Landen bezocht: